Home > Doctor Who Portrait Project > Doctor Who Portrait Project – 2nd Doctor, part 4

Doctor Who Portrait Project – 2nd Doctor, part 4

My quest to paint portraits of each and every Doctor continues with more progress on the Second Doctor.

I’m in the middle of moving, so I haven’t had much time to work on this lately. This weekend’s project was to buy and then assemble a massive amount of IKEA furniture I still needed, (because a bed and dresser and such would help :P) but I was able to put some time in after dinner tonight. Today, I really struggled with the hair. I’ve never been able to develop a satisfactory method of painting hair.  I wanted a more loose, painterly feel to it rather than a detailed rendering of each strand of hair, but most of the tutorials I could find either dealt with photo-realistic hair, cloning hair from a photograph, or an anime-inspired method involving big huge blocks of colour. I finally found one technique that was worth experimenting with, so I wiped out all the shading from the last post and started over, but I’m still not 100% pleased with it. I’m not sure it goes too well with the style of the shading on the face.

I also refined the eyebrows, which  I think helps make the expression look more readable as puzzlement. I’ll take  break from the hair next session and work on defining the ears.  I’ve also got to revisit the shirt and suspenders. I’m pretty happy witht the collar, but the rest looks pretty sloppy, and the shoulders still aren’t convincing. I’ve also got to add the little half-moons to the suspenders still. Still, I’m on the home stretch. One or two more sessionss and I think this one will be done.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

