Home > art, Doctor Who Portrait Project > Doctor Who Portrait Project – 2nd Doctor, part 2

Doctor Who Portrait Project – 2nd Doctor, part 2

I scanned in my sketch of Two and took it into Corel Painter right away. Other than the fill tool in the background and the plain tinter for blocking out the figure, I’m using the oil pastels pretty much exclusively for this. I’m liking the blendy-ness of them, the very slight texture it gives, and the painterly feel of the end result. Next to this, my painting of poor One looks like he’s made out of  pastic or something.

Here’s where I stopped today: The face is about 75% done. I need to do another pass with blackest-black, and I may or may not noodle on it for a bit to get an extra level of detail if I have the patience. I blocked in the hair and eyebrows to get a feel for the tone, and I started on the collar on the right side. I’m thinking of lowering that shoulder – It doesn’t seem to fit, since I’m omitting the hand.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

